DAY 22: 30-Day Blogging Challenge For Teachers

My Personal Learning Network (PLN) includes my colleagues, those I’m following on Twitter, those posting in Google Communities (that I’ve joined), and those blogging (that I follow).

Access has changed the environment for which we can learn, but it’s important to not forget to learn from fellow educators we work with directly. I consider myself very fortunate to work with some of the very best in Liberty Public Schools.

Twitter is where I first discovered the idea of a PLN. And since 2009, the number of people I’m following has grown to 737. Some of these I know personally, some I’ve met one or twice, and some I may never meet. But I’m connected to each of them. In addition to those I follow, I search hashtags. Daily, I am able to see what’s happening in other classes/schools, learn ideas, and connect with others.

Google Communities is the most recent growth in my PLN. Like Twitter, I’m connecting with those I know personally and those I don’t. Our Innovation and Learning Coaching team has a Google Community. I have set up a Google Community for each of my schools. I am a member of various other in-district communities as well as external communities, such as GEG Kansas City, Digital Citizenship Resources, and Connected Classrooms Workshop.

Blogs are another great way to learn from others. My favorite education blogs include:

Learning from others has easily become a daily experience thanks to my PLN.

**This post is in response to “Reflecting Teaching: A 30-Day Blogging Challenge For Teachers.”

One thought on “DAY 22: 30-Day Blogging Challenge For Teachers

  1. Wow, Matthew! What an honor to be included in this list alongside thinkers like Tucker, Couros, and Sheninger! A few of these blogs are new to me so I’m looking forward to checking them out. Thanks for always sharing so many great reflections, ideas, and resources.

Leave a Reply

