DAY 21: 30-Day Blogging Challenge For Teachers

I’ve been fortunate to have had the opportunity to travel to Haiti three times since the summer of 2010. My interest in the lives of the Haitian people/ kids I’ve met has greatly impacted my life. As a fifth grade teacher, this interest has also influenced my teaching.

I’m a believer in sharing my own personal life experiences with my students. Through pictures, stories, and texts about the country, my classes have learned about Haiti. I don’t share this interest so students will have the same interests as me, but rather that they have the chance to more accurately understand our world. Most countries are not like America. It benefits students to understand this reality.

DSCN0274

Haiti, like other countries, is unique, full of challenges, and encompasses beautiful people. The poverty and destruction is eye-opening, the issue of orphaned and abandoned children heart-breaking, but all the while the grace of God very present. Even though many of my orphan friends’ stories are ones of tragedy and despair, their joy is transparent. In the midst of poverty and uncertainty, it’s such a beautiful place.

**This post is in response to “Reflecting Teaching: A 30-Day Blogging Challenge For Teachers.”

Leave a Reply

