DAY 9: 30-Day Blogging Challenge For Teachers

One of my biggest accomplishments in teaching is my growth in reading instruction. Frankly, I wasn’t very good at teaching reading and, therefore, did not like teaching it. Fortunately, I was paired up with our Instructional Coach, and things changed. She provided ongoing support for a semester through collaborative planning, demonstration teaching, co-teaching, analysis and feedback. We had honest conversations, and she provided practical ideas. She modeled effective instructional practices and was always positive. She built my confidence and celebrated growth. As I became better, I became more confident. As I became more confident, I became better. Once I became an effective reading teacher, I enjoyed teaching it. The result was quality reading and learning experiences in my class.

This is the biggest reason why I wanted to become a coach myself; The effectiveness of a successful coaching experience changes instruction, perception, and learning.

 

**This post is in response to “Reflecting Teaching: A 30-Day Blogging Challenge For Teachers.”

One thought on “DAY 9: 30-Day Blogging Challenge For Teachers

Leave a Reply

